Vyhledávání


Liebieg\'s small town (Liebiegovo městečko)

← Back to results
Created:20.11.2014 | Modified:27.11.2017

Address:náměstí Pod BranouLiberec, 460 01GPS:50°45'38.7''N; 15°03'51.3''E[Map]
An employee housing estate built in the immediate vicinity of the factory was under construction from the mid-19th century to the 1920s.

It is an intact and well-preserved example of a planned factory construction based on the principle of garden towns. What makes it especially unique is the fact that it was easily built into the relatively dramatic natural scenery, which it suitably complemented, and granted the whole settlement a picturesque appearance. 

The first achievement in the construction of the workers' accommodation facilities was the construction of the cottage-style house between the years 1853-1855 in Svatopluk Street (the greater part of which is destroyed today). In the 1860s works were commenced on the construction of the social facility for children, the Vincentina, which was complemented in the years 1884–1888 by the Church of St. Vincence de Paula designed by Viennese architects Richard Jordan and Josef Schmalzhofer. 

Shortly afterwards, four residential houses and a manger designed by Ernst Schäfr in the style of geometric Art Nouveau were built between the years 1906-1908. Jakob Schmeissner, whose projects were carried out by Richard Wojatschek from the corporate construction office, was the key creator and spiritual figure of the overall concept of the settlement. The square Pod Branou built in the years 1911-1912, which features an enchanting house with a turret (No.440/IV ), became the heart of the settlement. 

Apart from providing accommodation, the houses on the square also offered community facilities. The houses with arcades on the ground floor featured shops, and there was also an inn called "U města Broumova" in one of them. A girls' school (No. 455/IV ) and student quarters (No. 498/IV ) were established inside the settlement. Three villas designated for high-ranking employees (No. 446/IV, 445/IV (568/IV), 436/IV) forming a unity were built based on the design of the Liberec architect Oskar Rössler from the years 1911–1914 in Klicperova street. The housing estate gradually grew until 1929. The doors of the individual buildings which are examples of complex carving art are especially worth noticing.

Attachments