Technical University of Liberec← Back to listing
Architecture: The unique Rector's Office and Information Centre of the TUL was built in 2006-2007. This remarkable building consists of two parts – a low entrance ramp with a stepped wooden terrace and a vertical wing with offices. The vertical wing, which is the dominant landmark of the entire square, contains the offices of the university management at the top, while the bottom part of the building is primarily for students, with a café and terrace on the ground floor and the underground part containing a meeting room and parking spaces for 67 cars.History: The Liberec school was founded in 1953 as the University of Mechanical Engineering in Liberec. Seven years later the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering was joined by the Faculty of Textile Engineering, which is still the only faculty of its kind in Europe, and the school was renamed as the University of Mechanical and Textile Engineering in Liberec. The Technical University of Liberec was established as of 1 January 1995.
Education: Nowadays the university has seven faculties (Mechanical Engineering; Textile Engineering; Science-Humanities and Education; Economics; Arts and Architecture; Mechatronics, Informatics and Interdisciplinary Studies; Health Studies) and one expert Institute for Nanomaterials, Advanced Technologies and Innovation. The specialists from our university have a number of useful inventions to their name. One of the most important of these is a technological process for the industrial production of nanofibres, together with participation in the production of the prototype of the machine called the Nanospider.